Look Good Feel Better

Hey Guys,

Hope everyone is having a happy Monday – it’s raining over here in Essex, perfect blogging weather. 🙂

So as part of my quest, (yes, too much Shrek), to become more charitable I spent a night in front of my Laptop searching and applying for various roles for different charities and hospitals.

As charities are always calling out for volunteers I expected to be inundated with responses. I eagerly kept checking my email inbox the next morning – nothing. Not one reply. I thought maybe they need more time, a few weeks passed and still nothing. Was I that bad? Did I tick the wrong boxes? Although, I’m not sure I could get much wrong with handing out library books to patients on a ward, or having a cup of tea and a chit chat!

Although feeling a little deflated, I decided not to give up, and carried on searching and applying.

I finally got a response after applying twice to a Charity called ‘Look Good Feel Better’ to become a volunteer at a local make up workshop.

They are the only worldwide cancer support charity, who provide practical support for woman struggling with the side effects from cancer treatment.

Finding out you have cancer can be daunting and life-changing and the added stress of the appearance related side effects of treatment can be demoralising and very hard to cope with. This can have serious consequences on self-esteem and confidence at a time when a positive attitude is very important.

Look Good Feel Better is dedicated to improving the self-esteem, confidence and wellbeing of people undergoing treatment for any sort of cancer. The aim is to improve their self-image and appearance through free group and self-help skincare and make-up workshops that create a sense of support, confidence, and wellbeing.

The application process is pretty straight forward, you complete an online questionnaire, someone from the charity will email you asking for your experience, photos of your work, insurance, availability etc. and then book you onto a workshop convenient to your time and location. You then have to complete an online training guide/mini test before attending the workshop.

From my first initial contact on the 18th October 2016, I finally managed to go on my first workshop last week, 15th March 2017.  What an amazing, humbling experience. My first job was to help set up the tables to accommodate the women through the workshop.. They had mirrors, cleansing bowls, cotton pads, foundation sponges etc.

17440375_1894664814113240_54248759_n

The women then arrived, our next job was to make them feel at ease, offer drinks and snacks, help them find a seat and sign in.

A demo then took place, helping the women create natural looking eyebrows, eyelashes etc for those who have extremely sparse hair, or none at all.

17409885_1894664817446573_245777481_n

We then got to hand out the most amazing goody bags filled with high end products, donated to the charity from many known make up brands, everything they needed from skincare (cleansers, toners, moisturisers to colour correctors, foundations, powders, eyebrow pencils, eyeliner, lipstick, eyeshadow etc.). Our job was to then guide the women through the products, there uses, show them how to apply the products, answer any questions and give advice.

This, by far was one of the most touching things I have done to date. A few occasions throughout the workshop I found myself having to blink back the tears when listening to what these brave ladies where going or went through.

One thing I did notice, was all the pictures of volunteers I have seen, and the ones who I have volunteered with so far have been 30+. So as a 22 year old MUA, I am hoping to inspire some of us younger girls to put our skills and knowledge to good use.

So… if you have a least one years beauty experience, and have some time you can donate then sign yourself up (will post the link at the bottom of the page).

And.. if you are a woman who is unfortunately battling the nasty ‘C’, or have,then sign yourself up to attend one of these workshops. Alternatively, I know they sell a DVD online which has tutorials on.Look Good Feel Better Sign Up

Xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

